‘O Mio Babbino Caro’

Norwegian soprano Sissel Kyrkjebø sings “O Mio Babbino Caro.”


As there is no official Father’s Day song, I want to embed one into your head. The favored piece is the aria, “O Mio Babbino Caro” (Oh My Dear Papa), from the opera, “Gianni Schicchi” (1918) by Giacomo Puccini. In the opera, Lauretta sings a plea to her father for permission to go with the man she loves to buy a wedding ring.

Though I’m not advocating society go back to the days when fathers hold power over who should marry, society has moved too far from children asking their fathers even for advice. As you listen to the Norwegian soprano Sissel Kyrkjebø sing, think what plea do you have for your father?

I know plenty of children who wish their fathers were in their lives more and plenty of fathers who miss their children. Also, I know God, Our Heavenly Father, would like to hear our pleas to him as well.

Here are the aria’s words in Italian and the translation into English:

Italian
O mio babbino caro
Mi piace, è bello, bello
Vo’ andare in Porta Rossa
a comperar l’anello!
Sì, sì, ci voglio andare!
e se l’amassi indarno,
andrei sul Ponte Vecchio,
ma per buttarmi in Arno!
Mi struggo e mi tormento!
O Dio, vorrei morir!
Babbo, pietà, pietà!
Babbo, pietà, pietà!

English
Oh my dear papa
I love him, he is handsome, handsome
I want to go to Porta Rossa
to buy the ring!
Yes, yes, I want to go there!
And if my love were in vain,
I would go to the Ponte Vecchio
and throw myself in the Arno!
I am being consumed by the torment!
Papa, have pity, have pity!
Papa, have pity, have pity!

This entry was posted in Fathers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

