Amendment 62 protects babies

Baby born healthy at 28 weeks

This baby was born healthy at 28 weeks, is healthy still and one of the brightest students in her school class.

A little girl baby I know was born at 28 weeks a few years ago. Difficulties with the pregnancy started labor that could not be stopped. She was only 2 pounds 14 ounces at birth but had a will to live. She left the hospital 3 months later perfectly healthy and is still healthy and one of the brightest students in her class.

Was there a time this baby wasn’t a person? No. She was always an individual human. She needed protecting and deserved birth unless a natural miscarriage removed her from the mother’s nurturing womb or if the mother’s life was at risk or the mother couldn’t carry the baby because of rape or incest. In these cases, however, the pregnancy should have been terminated within weeks of conception.

It makes sense to put that protection in the Constitution of the State of Colorado. Though Amendment 62 goes a bit too far, I’d rather see the debate start at this point than where it is today. Amendment 62 says “the term ‘person’ shall apply to every human being from the beginning of that biological development of that human being.”

Jinny Jordan, a Broomfield Enterprise columnist, is right is her Oct. 21 letter to the editor. The debate of “when a person is a person” is as insulting me as it is to her. She asked a very good question, “Are pregnant mothers delivering sacks of potatoes? No, they are delivering living, breathing babies.”

Jinny went on to say that approximately 80 percent of women who abort artificially, grieve the loss of their children. I can tell you from experience a woman grieves even when the loss of a child is a natural miscarriage.

I miscarried a baby at 8 weeks quite a few years ago. I lost a lot of blood in this terrible ordeal as body parts were caught on their way out. I needed help. While I was being attended to at the hospital, a nurse told me the baby was a little boy. I so wanted that little boy. Though I was grieving I did hear some comforting rationale for the miscarriage. There was enough wrong with this pregnancy that my body miscarried.

I have no question. When a woman is pregnant, she is expecting a baby, nothing less, and definitely not a sack of potatoes. These babies to be delivered deserve protection through Amendment 62.

(Updated 1/6/11 to better reflect my views.)

This entry was posted in Protecting life, Voter guide and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

