Happy Mother’s Day, Mom

Flowers on My Mother's Casket

Flowers on my mother's casket


I must admit I’ve been a little jealous of those who will spend time with their mothers today or will call them. And, in some ways I’d love to have the times back where I sent my mom flowers or some gift in a package. I don’t have regrets. I just wish I could move back time’s march and relive the past now she’s gone. I miss her.

Once I left home for college, I never did really live at home unless you count those few months I was home before heading out to a job and then to marriage. So, a visit, a call or a gift was the way to go for Mother’s Day.

Today started out with my watching the Mormon Tabernacle Choir’s “Music and the Spoken Word” on byu.tv. She would have loved the video and pictures as the choir sang, “All Things Bright and Beautiful” by Cecil Francis Alexander. I saw flowers and birds, and families of deer and lions. I saw streams and waterfalls, horses drinking in one stream and little birds splashing in the water. I saw a butterfly spreading its wings, a snowstorm, and ducks swimming near the water’s edge. And, I saw that marvelous choir singing, “The Lord, God, made them all.”

My mother has been a profound influence for good in my life. I think about what she’d say when she saw something beautiful. She liked poetry and funny stories. She focused her difficult life on the positive as much as possible. From my perspective, she could do anything. I am sure that is why I felt like I could do anything as a 12-year-old. My younger sister and I went door to door asking for a job to earn money so I could go to my church’s girls camp. When asked what we could do, we answered, “We can do anything.”

Thank you, Mom. Happy Mother’s Day. I know it’s taking more time than you’d like, but yes, I’m still working on your book.

This entry was posted in Inspirations, Mormon Tabernacle Choir, Mothers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

