Failing air conditioner surprise

While temperatures this weekend peaked in the 100s outside, my home air conditioner did not cool inside temperatures to below the mid-80s. Murphy’s Law says that if something could go wrong, it will. So, naturally, I assumed my conditioner needed service. I discovered otherwise.

Shannon Nevin, office manager at Aspen Creek Heating and Air in Broomfield, took the time to really help me. She asked me whether my air conditioner had died completely or was putting out even a little cool air? It was still putting out air that was slightly cool, so she suggested I turn the unit back on and set the temperature below the room’s current temperature. With the outside temperature then in the 70s, we would be able to determine whether the conditioner simply was not “keeping up” in higher temperatures.

I was ecstatic. My air conditioner lowered the temperature inside. Thanks to Nevin, I did not need to wait days for an unnecessary service call. Instead, I could use the air conditioner for what it could do and add to it as needed, i.e. cold drinks, ice cream, popsicles, fans, etc. Nevin also suggested I change my furnace filter and told me that 20 degrees lower inside than out is about all you can expect from air conditioning.

I cannot thank Nevin enough for taking the time to ask me a few questions and to make a suggestion. Now, I am looking for a good whole-house fan to suck out all the hot air from the house and push it out vents in the attic. Then, I think I will be set for more hot weather.

This entry was posted in Helpful businesses and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Failing air conditioner surprise

  1. mbiddle23 says:

    Thanks for sharing your story Shirley! You definitely have to have air conditioning these days especially with it being the summer time and heat waves kicking in all over the place. I'm trying to make sure I have it in my household because my air conditioner has just broken down and is not worth fixing. So I have been online looking at new air conditioner units , because there is nothing worst than a 98 degree day and having no air conditioning.

  2. dagaudio says:

    If you're buying a new air conditioner, buy an Energy Star unit. It will have more upfront cost, but air conditioners are very expensive to run. An energy star unit will save you on operating costs for years to come.

    Check out my blog for more air conditioning tips and posts: http://www.airconditioning-chicagoland.com/

Leave a Reply

