How to obtain miracles

Wendy Watson Nelson at BYU Women's Conference in 2007. Photo from byutv.org

Wendy Watson Nelson at BYU Women’s Conference in 2007. Photo from byutv.org

The simple story on how to obtain miracles stood out as Sister Wendy Watson Nelson spoke in a fireside (evening meeting) last night at the Boulder Colorado Stake Center, 701 W. South Boulder Road, Louisville.

The former marriage and family therapy professor, author, and wife of Elder Russell M. Nelson of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints told of a conversation between a mission president and a missionary. The missionary was excelling in the work, and the mission president wanted to know why.

The president asked the Elder, “What are you doing to be so successful?” The Elder responded, “Obedience brings blessings.” The mission president said, “Yes, yes, everyone knows that.” Then, the Elder added, “Exact obedience brings miracles.”

Exact obedience is key. If you need a miracle in your life like I do, ask yourself the questions that I am asking myself. How can I comply with God’s commandments with exactness? How can I become a more holy woman (or man) and follow Jesus’ example with exactness?

The task seems overwhelming. Yet, I am certain I will find the answers to these questions and other related to them in the scriptures – Bible, Book of Mormon, Doctrine and Covenants, and Pearl of Great Price – and in listening to God’s prophets and other Church leaders.

As I pondered miracles today, I ran across the New Era article online on lds.org, Do You Need a Miracle? It was written by Elder Larry W. Gibbons, Area Authority Seventy North America Southwest Area in the February 2003 issue. Gibbons underscored with details the truth the missionary knew.

Gibbons referred to the teachings of Elder Bruce R. McConkie (1915-1985), a member of The Quorum of Twelve Apostles when he died. McConkie “taught that faith requires assurance that God will hear our prayers and answer them. No person can have this assurance when he knows he is not living in the way the Lord wants him to live. This is another key element in bringing about miracles. Faith requires repentance. Miracles require faith. So miracles require repentance. Therefore, faith and repentance (which result in righteous living) are the means by which miracles come into our lives,” Gibbons said.

I know my resolve will ebb and tide as will my successes. I have clear ideas of where to head, however, and I hope and pray to have more successes in exact obedience than not. I wish the same for you if this is what you are seeking.

This entry was posted in My Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to obtain miracles

  1. sockeymom says:

    Hi Ms Scoville – I check on your blog from time to time (mostly to disagree, I'm afraid) and was concerned about your 4 month absence. Now you reference needing a miracle. May you be well, happy, and peaceful. My thoughts are with you.

Leave a Reply

